Pic Of The Week (44/2012) – Impressions from Tbilisi

This futuristic building is the new Public Service Hall on the right shore of Mtkvari river.

The new Public Service Hall in Tbilisi
The new Public Service Hall in Tbilisi

(Image Copyright 2012 by Johann Brandstätter/JB Photography)

It was supposed to be opened in September, but there is still a lot of work going on at the time of my visit. But the building, designed by an Italian architect, is definitely going to be a landmark in downtown Tbilisi. An eyecatcher it is anyway, especially at night when the whole structure is lit and reflected in the waters of the Mtkvari.

I was at the end of a night shooting in the city center when I took this image and almost passed on the opportunity because I was bone tired and feet hurt. But having a second look I set up my tripod again and made a series of exposures with different settings.

More images from Tbilisi in my website:  Georgia – Tbilisi.

Canon EOS 50D & Canon EF 24-105 mm L IS USM (@35mm); f/14; 30s; ISO 125

