Pic Of The Week (51/2011)

A very dedicated railway photographer…

Mariela during a shooting on a railway line in northern Bulgaria
Mariela during a shooting on a railway line in northern Bulgaria (www.jb-photography.org)

This image shows my wife Mariela during a shooting along the picturesque railway line along the Iskar valley, north of Sofia in Bulgaria. While I was taking photos of the dilapidated station in the village of Rebrovo, she was whizzing around on the tracks to get a couple of nice “the railway to nowhere”-style shots.

I couldn’t really focus on what I was doing because I saw her running around between the rails with absolute disregard of the fact that this is a live railway line. So I spent more time watching her back than tacking shots of my own, but when she actually sat down near a switch and calmly started to frame her image, I could not resist and took this image.

Canon EOS 50D & Canon EF 4/70-200 mm L USM; f4.0, 1/500; ISO 400

More railway images can be seen on JB Photography – Rail (click link).

(Image Copyright Johann Brandstatter/JB Photography)

